#MenCareLive


Featuring live coverage of MenCare Global Meeting 2019

MenCare Coordinators are excited to share the agenda for online participation of the MenCare Global Meeting 2019! This year, all plenaries will be streamed via Facebook Live on MenCare’s page and selected workshops will be available for interactive participation via Zoom meeting. Please check back here for all updates regarding online participation.

DAY 1: Tuesday, November 19 | DAY 2: Wednesday, November 20 | DAY 3: Thursday, November 21 

Opening Plenary: Promoting Care as Valuable Work

When: 9:00 – 10:30 WEST | 10:00 – 11:30 CAT | 13:30 – 15:00 IST | 3:00 – 4:30 EST
What: Featuring a welcome and introductions by Carine Troussel, Quartiers du Monde, Anne-Claire de Liedekerke, Make Mothers Matter, and MenCare Co-Coordinators Aapta Garg, Promundo-US, and Wessel van den Berg, Sonke Gender Justice. Speakers:

  • Leila Rhiwi, UN Women Representative for the Multi-country Office in Morocco
  • Amina Bouayach, President of the National Human Rights Council (CNDH)

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

MenCare Around the World (Part I and Part II)

When: 10:30 – 13:00 WEST | 11:30 – 14:00 CAT | 15:00 – 17:30 IST | 4:30 – 7:00 EST
What: Presentation of country-based initiatives in a “world café format” with a 30 minute tea break.

Join the Zoom meeting here.

Plenary: Deconstructing Patriarchy, Power, and Privilege: Rooting our work in Feminist Ideals

When: 14:00 – 15:30 WEST | 15:00 – 16:30 CAT | 18:30 – 20:00 IST | 8:00 – 9:30 EST
What: Exploring how MenCare can better align our agenda with feminisms around the world. Speakers:

  • Shrinivas Rao, Programme Director, Azad Foundation
  • Laxman Belbase, Global Networks Manager, MenEngage Alliance
  • Joni van de Sand, Global Director, Men Engage Alliance
  • Valerie Bichelmeier, UN Representative and Advocacy Officer, Make Mothers Matter
  • Saïda Belhdid, President of Ouarzazate Section, Fédération des Ligues des Droits des Femmes
  • Ada Bazan, International Coordinator, Quartiers du Monde
  • Suleiman Henry, Child Rights and Positive Parenting (CRPP) Regional Trainer, Sonke Gender Justice

Moderator:

  • Nikki van der Gaag, Senior Fellow, Proumundo-US

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

Workshop: Men Care for the Climate

When: 16:00 – 17:30 WEST | 17:00 – 18:30 CAT | 20:30 – 22:00 IST | 10:00 – 11:30 EST
What: The children are telling us to wake up to the fact that there is a climate crisis. MenCare partners will share experiences and methods for including care for the environment and the climate crisis into the work with fathers and men. Partners will present new research about men in the climate crisis. Facilitators:

  • Tomas Agnemo, Plan International Sweden
  • Vidar Vetterfalk, MÄN Sweden

Join the Zoom meeting here.

Plenary: Fathers and Male Caregivers Involvement in the Early Years

When: 9:00 – 11:00 WEST | 10:00 – 12:00 CAT | 13:30 – 15:30 IST | 3:00 – 5:00 EST
What: Exploring ways to best promote men’s involvement before birth, during birth, and throughout the early years of a child’s life. Speakers:

  • Aljosa Rodas, Program Officer, International Step by Step Association (ISSA)
  • Shamsi Kazimbaya, Senior Program Officer, Promundo-US
  • Emmanuel Karamage, Field Coordinator in WOW Project, Rwanda Men’s Resource Center (RWAMREC)
  • Duncan Fisher, Editor of Child & Family Blog and Affiliate of University of Maryland, USA
  • Maureen Samms-Vaughan, Professor of Child Health, Child Development and Behavior, University of the West Indies
  • Saifullah Chaudhury, Senior Advisor, Gender Equality, Plan International Canada

Moderator:

  • Sam Sternin, Consultant on behalf of the Bernard Van Leer Foundation

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

Workshop: Research and Lessons from National Fatherhood Reports

When: 11:30 – 13:00 WEST | 12:30 – 14:00 CAT | 16:00 – 17:30 IST | 5:30 – 7:00 EST
What: An opportunity to hear about national fatherhood research from Latin America, Africa, and the Nordic region. Facilitator:

  • Wessel van den Berg, Sonke Gender Justice

Join the Zoom meeting here.

Plenary: The State of Parental and Paternity Leave: How can we best advocate for change?

When: 14:00 – 15:30 WEST | 15:00 – 16:30 CAT | 18:30 – 20:00 IST | 8:00 – 9:30 EST
What:We know that fully paid, non-transferable paternity leave and other kinds of care leave are some of the keys to moving the dial on unpaid care. How can we make this happen? Can we include the non-formal sector? And how do we keep a feminist perspective? Speakers:

  • Sebastian Molano, Senior Gender Advisor, Oxfam America
  • Umberto Cattaneo, Economist Gender Equality and Diversity, International Labour Organization
  • Gary Barker on behalf of the Paternity Leave Corporate Task Force, Promundo-US
  • Rachel Ploem, Technical Advisor Women’s Health & Gender, Rutgers WPF
  • Latifa Benayad, Head of the Gender File, Department of Administration Reform & Coordinator, RCI Network (Interministerial Coordination Network)

Moderator:

  • Wessel van den Berg, Child Rights and Positive Parenting Portfolio Manager Sonke Gender Justice

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

Workshop: Advancing the MenCare Commitment: Lessons from High Impact Advocacy

When: 16:00 – 17:30 WEST | 17:00 – 18:30 CAT | 20:30 – 22:00 IST | 10:00 – 11:30 EST
What: This workshop will explore current successful examples of advocacy to inspire the realization of MenCare Commitment. Facilitator:

  • Dean Peacock, Promundo-US

Join the Zoom meeting here.

Plenary: State of the World’s Fathers and the MenCare Commitment

When: 9:30 – 11:00 WEST | 10:30 – 12:00 CAT | 14:00 – 15:30 IST | 3:30 – 5:00 EST
What: We will provide an overview of the State of the World’s Fathers report, how it generated the MenCare Commitment, and profile examples of successful advocacy across the five policy areas laid out in the MenCare Commitment. Speakers:

  • Wessel van den Berg, Children’s Rights and Positive Parenting Unit Manager, Sonke Gender Justice
  • Tatiana Moura, Coordinator, Promundo-Portugal
  • Emmanuel Karamage, Field Coordinator in WOW Project, Rwanda Men’s Resource Center (RWAMREC)
  • Hugo Rocha Pérez, Director, Cómplices por la Igualdad – MenEngage Mexico
  • Francisco Aguayo, Director, Cultura Salud/EME

Moderator:

  • Gary Barker, President & CEO, Promundo-US

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

Closing Plenary: Closing Reflections on Ways Forward for MenCare

When: 14:00 – 15:00 WEST | 15:00 – 16:00 CAT | 18:30 – 19:30 IST | 8:00 – 9:00 EST
What: Closing reflections from participants on their main takeaways from the meeting.

Moderators:

  • Gary Barker, President & CEO, Promundo-US
  • Wessel van den Berg, Children’s Rights and Positive Parenting Unit Manager, Sonke Gender Justice

Join the livestream on MenCare’s Facebook here.

Each month, MenCare partners around the world share updates on their latest work, research and events. Stay up-to-date by signing up for our newsletter.